top of page

The memory of Rose Valland

Rose Valland

Conservation Officer at the Jeu de Paume Museum, dedicated since 1932 to contemporary foreign schools, Rose Valland, like all national museum staff, contributes to the safety of museum works threatened by the imminence of the global conflict.

She was then, from November 1940, the rebellious witness of the looting organized by the Nazis who made transit through its museum, requisitioned for this use, the works stolen from Jewish and Freemason families before sending them to Germany where they came to enrich the collections of the Führer, Goering or German museums.

Powerless to prevent this regulated cutting of the French artistic heritage, Rose Valland nevertheless managed to remain in her post during the four years of occupation, to establish in extremely perilous conditions the detailed lists of the works that she saw scrolling through the galleries. venues and find their destination in Germany.

This information, transmitted regularly to the Directorate of National Museums, will prove to be crucial in establishing a post-war recovery strategy.

At the Liberation, Rose Valland became secretary of the Artistic Recovery Commission then, contracting an engagement within the French First Army, left for Germany with the rank of captain. It is then responsible for finding, in conjunction with the Allies, the pieces belonging to French collections and ensuring their return.

Around 60,000 works of art are estimated to have been repatriated to France, by the Commission for Artistic Recovery and the Allies, thanks to the work and dedication of Rose Valland.

Written in 1961, his testimony book, Le Front de l'art, received an unexpected media light and remained until the 1990s a reference on the history of the recovery of works of art.

The journey of an art historian

The childhood and years of apprenticeship of Rose Valland took place in the village of Saint-Étienne-de-Saint-Geoirs (Isère), Grenoble and Lyon, where as a hardworking and determined student she trained in teaching and Fine arts.

The discovery of her student work, of her paintings, attest to the artistic qualities of the young girl. This practice will be invaluable to him as part of his scientific training, allowing him to judge works of art with a particular skill.

The tenacity which she shows throughout her studies indeed pushes Rose Valland to enrich her course with a solid training in art history which will soon lead the young provincial, that her social origins rather destined for a career of teacher, working in an important Parisian museum.

After Lyon, the École des Beaux-arts de Paris, the École du Louvre, the Institute of Art and Archeology and the Practical School of Advanced Studies will witness a university career, leading to numerous diplomas.

One of its most eminent masters, Henri Focillon, described it in 1936 as follows:
"It is a distinguished spirit, firm, open and well gifted for our studies", when Gabriel Millet underlines his disinterested dedication: "she loves her task, she is one of those on whom we can count" he wrote. in a letter of recommendation.

A conservation attaché on the eve of the conflict

In 1932, Rose Valland joined the Jeu de Paume museum as a volunteer attaché. Located at the forefront of contemporary art, the museum multiplied its exhibitions and acquired in these thirties, marked by the initiatives of the Popular Front, a certain notoriety.

France, in 1936, prepared for war and the world of museums, under the leadership of the Minister of National Education and Fine Arts, Jean Zay, drew up a plan to protect works of art.

Its spectacular performance will be orchestrated by Jacques Jaujard, future director of the national museums, a man of experience, who had actively participated in the rescue plan for the Prado's works during the Spanish Civil War.

Lists of castles, monasteries or abbeys that can accommodate public collections are drawn up, evacuation plans and routes are defined.

Some large private collections are planned to be accommodated in the places of refuge of the national collections. The departure of the first convoy of works from the Louvre took place in September 1938, a year later, thanks to incredible logistics, around forty trucks left Paris.

From the Jeu de Paume museum, Rose Valland, like hundreds of men and women, takes part in this endeavor.

Rose Valland in the Occupied Jeu de Paume: Fine Arts and War

German troops entered Paris on June 14, 1940. Firmly determined to remain at her post, Rose Valland was unaware of the plan long imagined by the Nazis to seize works of art from the occupied territories of the West: Luxembourg , Belgium, the Netherlands and of course France.

As soon as he took power in 1933, Adolf Hitler made the arts a major issue in National Socialist politics.

Anxious to impose the aesthetics of the Third Reich, he denounces modern art qualified as "degenerate" and purges German museums of its presence. The condemned works are destroyed, as during the Berlin autodafé of March 20, 1939, or sold for foreign currency to supply the Party coffers.

The conquered countries are considered as a formidable reservoir of works capable of nourishing the ambitions of the Führer. Hitler is indeed considering the creation of a gigantic Museum of Fine Arts in Linz, Austria.

To feed its collections, the Nazi cultural services under the orders of Goebbels draw up a catalog of claims for cultural objects of Germanic origin, known as the Kümmel report.

The Jewish and Freemason collections, for their part, were the object of a systematic plunder operated by the service of Alfred Rosenberg, the ERR, which chose the Jeu de Paume as the seat of its operations.

It is therefore by chance that Rose Valland is at the heart of the vast enterprise of spoliation of French artistic heritage, the museum becoming the sorting center for works that are destined in particular for the Adolf Hitler museum, for the personal collection. Hermann Goering or German museums.

Rose Valland immediately after the war

Immediately after the war, the search for works of art taken to Germany was entrusted to the Commission for artistic recovery (CRA), created on November 24, 1944 at the instigation of the Ministry of National Education. Its mission is to study the problems linked to the recovery of objects and works of art and to collect, in close collaboration with the Office for the Recovery of Property, the declarations of the looted owners.

The secretariat of the Commission is entrusted to Rose Valland. This position is rightfully her responsibility given the important documentation she collected during the Occupation.

Lists of works, lists of owners, location of deposits in Germany, this information transmitted to the Allied armies will make it possible to safeguard hidden deposits threatened by military operations.

Later, appointed lieutenant then captain in the French Army, Rose Valland became the liaison agent between the CRA and the French government in the occupation zone in Germany.

"Rude and determined", these two adjectives attributed to her by the American fine arts officer James J. Rorimer, fully characterize the action of Rose Valland.

The decree of September 30, 1949 put an end to the activities of the Commission for artistic recovery. Its action, combined with the efforts of the Allies, made it possible to find around 60,000 works of art, the vast majority of them from Germany and Austria.

In 1950, the number of works of art returned to their rightful owners stood at 45,000

A shared experience

Arrived at the age of maturity, Rose Valland receives recognition from the Nation and its supervisory administration, the Ministry of National Education and Fine Arts.

The long-awaited obtaining of the status of curator, in 1952, consolidates her position within a profession that she has always wanted to integrate, while her action in favor of the recovery of works of art and the safety of the collections is enhanced through the new missions entrusted to it.

In the context of the Cold War, the experience of the Second World War indeed serves to design new rescue plans for artistic heritage threatened by the possibility of a new conflict.

Like Jacques Jaujard in 1939, Rose Valland was responsible for setting up an evacuation plan for masterpieces from French museums. This measure is part of the international agreement of The Hague on the protection of artistic property (1907).

The 1961 publication of Front de l'art, in which Rose Valland retraces the history of the rescue of private collections from Jewish families, helps to publicize this woman who had remained in the shadows until then.

The book is very well received in the press. Critics are unanimous in praising the objectivity of tone. The events recounted highlight the bitter struggle of the services of the national museums in the face of German demands.

Retired from 1968, Rose Valland tirelessly continued to work on the classification of the archives of the Commission for artistic recovery, today improperly called the “Rose Valland fund”.

In October 1979, she donated her personal archives to the Réunion des Musées Nationaux.

bottom of page

top of page

La mémoire de Rose Valland

Rose Valland

Attachée de conservation au musée du Jeu de Paume, dédié depuis 1932 aux écoles étrangères contemporaines, Rose Valland participe, comme l’ensemble des personnels des musées nationaux, à la mise en sécurité des œuvres des musées menacées par l’imminence du conflit mondial.

Elle est ensuite, dès novembre 1940, le témoin révolté du pillage organisé par les nazis qui font transiter par son musée, réquisitionné à cet usage, les œuvres dérobées aux familles juives et franc-maçonnes avant de les expédier en Allemagne où elles viennent enrichir les collections du Führer, de Goering ou des musées allemands.

Impuissante à empêcher cette mise en coupe réglée du patrimoine artistique français, Rose Valland parvient cependant à se maintenir à son poste durant les quatre années d’occupation, à établir dans des conditions extrêmement périlleuses les listes détaillées des œuvres qu’elle voit défiler dans les salles et à rechercher leur destination en Allemagne.

Ces renseignements, transmis régulièrement à la Direction des musées nationaux, s’avéreront capitaux pour l’établissement d’une stratégie de récupération après-guerre.

À la Libération, Rose Valland devient secrétaire de la Commission de récupération artistique puis, contractant un engagement au sein de la Première armée française, part en Allemagne avec le grade de capitaine. Elle est alors chargée de retrouver, en lien avec les Alliés, les pièces appartenant à des collections françaises et de veiller à leur retour.

On estime à environ 60 000 le nombre d’œuvres d’art rapatriées en France, par la Commission de récupération artistique et les Alliés, grâce au travail et au dévouement de Rose Valland.

Rédigé en 1961, son livre témoignage, Le Front de l’art, bénéficiera d’un éclairage médiatique inattendu et demeurera jusque dans les années 1990 une référence sur l’histoire de la récupération des œuvres d’art.

Rose Valland

Le parcours d’une historienne de l’art

L’enfance et les années d’apprentissage de Rose Valland ont pour cadre le village de Saint-Étienne-de-Saint-Geoirs (Isère), Grenoble et Lyon, où en élève travailleuse et décidée elle se forme à l’enseignement et aux Beaux-arts.

La découverte de ses travaux d’élève, de ses peintures, attestent des qualités artistiques de la jeune fille. Cette pratique lui sera précieuse dans le cadre de sa formation scientifique, lui permettant de juger les œuvres d’art avec une compétence particulière.

La ténacité dont elle fait preuve tout au long de ses études pousse en effet Rose Valland à enrichir son cursus d’une solide formation en histoire de l’art qui conduira bientôt la jeune provinciale, que ses origines sociales destinaient plutôt à une carrière d’institutrice, à travailler dans un important musée parisien.

Après Lyon, l’École des Beaux-arts de Paris, l’École du Louvre, l’Institut d’art et d’archéologie et l’École pratique des hautes études seront témoins d’un parcours universitaire, sanctionné de nombreux diplômes.

L’un de ses maîtres les plus éminents, Henri Focillon, la décrit en 1936 de la façon suivante :
« C’est un esprit distingué, ferme, ouvert et bien doué pour nos études », quand Gabriel Millet souligne son dévouement désintéressé : « elle aime sa tâche, elle est de celles sur qui l’on peut compter » écrira-t-il dans une lettre de recommandation.

Une attachée de conservation à la veille du conflit

En 1932, Rose Valland entre comme attachée bénévole au musée du Jeu de Paume. Situé aux avant-gardes de l’art contemporain, le musée multiplie les expositions et acquiert dans ces années trente, marquées par les initiatives du Front populaire, une notoriété certaine.

La France, dès 1936, se prépare à la guerre et le monde des musées, sous l’impulsion du ministre de l’Éducation nationale et des Beaux-arts, Jean Zay, dresse un plan de protection des œuvres d’art.

Son exécution spectaculaire sera orchestrée par Jacques Jaujard, futur directeur des musées nationaux, homme d’expérience, qui avait activement participé au plan de sauvetage des œuvres du Prado lors de la guerre civile espagnole.

Des listes de châteaux, monastères ou abbayes pouvant accueillir les collections publiques sont dressées, des plans d’évacuation, des itinéraires sont définis.

On prévoit d’accueillir certaines grandes collections privées dans les lieux de refuge des collections nationales. Le départ du premier convoi d’œuvres du Louvre a lieu en septembre 1938, un an plus tard, grâce à une incroyable logistique, une quarantaine de camions quittent Paris.

Depuis le musée du Jeu de Paume, Rose Valland, comme des centaines d’hommes et de femmes, participe à cette entreprise.

Rose Valland dans le Jeu de Paume occupé : les Beaux-arts et la guerre

Les troupes allemandes entrent dans Paris le 14 juin 1940. Fermement décidée à se maintenir à son poste, Rose Valland ignore tout du plan imaginé de longue date par les nazis pour saisir les œuvres d’art des territoires occupés de l’Ouest : le Luxembourg, la Belgique, les Pays-Bas et bien sûr la France.

Dès sa prise de pouvoir en 1933, Adolf Hitler fait des arts un enjeu majeur de la politique national-socialiste.

Soucieux d’imposer l’esthétique du IIIe Reich, il dénonce l’art moderne qualifié de « dégénéré » et expurge de sa présence les musées allemands. Les œuvres condamnées sont détruites, comme lors de l’autodafé berlinois du 20 mars 1939, ou vendues contre devises étrangères pour alimenter les caisses du Parti.

Les pays conquis sont considérés comme un formidable réservoir d’œuvres aptes à nourrir les ambitions du Führer. Hitler envisage en effet la création d’un gigantesque musée des Beaux-arts à Linz, en Autriche.

Pour alimenter ses collections, les services culturels nazis aux ordres de Goebbels rédigent un catalogue des réclamations des objets culturels d’origine germanique, connu sous le nom de rapport Kümmel.

Les collections juives et franc-maçonnes font quant à elles l’objet d’un pillage systématique opéré par le service d’Alfred Rosenberg, l’ERR, qui choisit le Jeu de Paume comme siège de ses opérations.

C’est donc par hasard que Rose Valland se trouve au cœur de la vaste entreprise de spoliation du patrimoine artistique français, le musée devenant le centre de triage des œuvres que l’on destine notamment au musée d’Adolf Hitler, à la collection personnelle d’Hermann Goering ou aux musées allemands.

Rose Valland l’immédiat après-guerre

Dès l’immédiat après-guerre, la recherche des œuvres d’art emportées en Allemagne est confiée à la Commission de récupération artistique (CRA), créée le 24 novembre 1944 sous l’impulsion du ministère de l’Éducation nationale. Sa mission consiste à étudier les problèmes liés à la récupération des objets et œuvres d’art et à recueillir, en étroite collaboration avec l’Office de la récupération des biens, les déclarations des propriétaires spoliés.

Le secrétariat de la Commission est confié à Rose Valland. Ce poste lui revient de droit compte tenu de l’importante documentation qu’elle a collectée pendant l’Occupation.

Listes des œuvres, listes des propriétaires, localisation des dépôts en Allemagne, ces informations transmises aux armées alliées rendront possible la sauvegarde des dépôts cachés menacés par les opérations militaires.

Plus tard, nommée lieutenant puis capitaine dans l’Armée française, Rose Valland devient l’agent de liaison entre la CRA et le gouvernement français de la zone d’occupation en Allemagne.

« Rude et déterminée », ces deux adjectifs que lui attribue l’officier Beaux-arts américain James J. Rorimer, caractérisent alors pleinement l’action de Rose Valland.

Le décret du 30 septembre 1949 met fin aux activités de la Commission de récupération artistique. Son action, conjuguée aux efforts des Alliés, aura permis de retrouver environ 60 000 œuvres d’art, en provenance pour la grande majorité d’entre elles d’Allemagne et d’Autriche.

En 1950, le nombre d’œuvres d’art restituées à leurs propriétaires légitimes s’élève à 45 000

Une expérience donnée en partage

Arrivée à l’âge de la maturité, Rose Valland reçoit la reconnaissance de la Nation et de son administration de tutelle, le Ministère de l’Éducation nationale et des Beaux-arts.

L’obtention longtemps espérée du statut de conservateur, en 1952, conforte sa position au sein d’une profession qu’elle a toujours voulu intégrer, tandis que son action en faveur de la récupération des œuvres d’art et de la mise en sécurité des collections est valorisée à travers les nouvelles missions qui lui sont confiées.

Dans le contexte de la guerre froide, l’expérience de la Seconde Guerre mondiale sert en effet à concevoir de nouveaux plans de sauvetage pour le patrimoine artistique menacé par l’éventualité d’un nouveau conflit.

Comme Jacques Jaujard en 1939, Rose Valland est chargée de mettre en place un plan d’évacuation des chefs-d’œuvre des musées français. Cette mesure s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’accord international de La Haye sur la protection des biens artistiques (1907).

La publication en 1961 du Front de l’art, dans lequel Rose Valland retrace l’histoire du sauvetage des collections particulières des familles juives, contribue à faire connaître cette femme restée jusque-là dans l’ombre.

L’ouvrage est très bien accueilli dans la presse. Les critiques sont unanimes pour saluer l’objectivité de ton. Les événements relatés mettent l’accent sur l’âpre combat des services des musées nationaux face aux exigences allemandes.

À la retraite à partir de 1968, Rose Valland continue inlassablement à travailler au classement du fonds d’archives de la Commission de récupération artistique, aujourd’hui improprement appelé « fonds Rose Valland ».

En octobre 1979, elle fait don de ses archives personnelles à la Réunion des musées nationaux.

bottom of page