top of page

     Margaret bourke-white

Self fportrait margaret.jfif
“No image is unimportant to me. "
portrait_margaret-bourke-white-1173x1500
"  Photography is a subtle thing. You must let the device take you by the hand and lead you to your subject.  "  Margaret bourke-white

PhotoReporter

160602-margaret-bourke-white-01.jpg

She received her first camera, a used 3 ¼ x 4 ¼ inch ICA Reflex with a cracked lens, taking her first photos on glass plates.

ica-large-format-slr-camera-1-x-1_1_5a83

ICA Reflex 3 ¼ x 4 ¼ inches

Bourke_White_Statue_de_la_Liberté,_New

American photoreporter.

Famous photoreporter, Margaret Bourke-White has established herself in a predominantly male environment. At the heart of major historical events, it transmitted some of the most striking images of the 20th century, some of which have become icons. Daughter of an amateur photographer engineer, she perfected her practice - acquired at Columbia - at the University of Michigan and began to sell some pictorialist style photographs in 1924. Two years later, after her divorce, she resumed her studies, then graduated from Cornell University in 1927. From then on, she began a career as an architectural photographer in Cleveland. His production at the time has great affinities, on the one hand with that of the American current of straight photography, initiated by Paul Strand, on the other hand with the European modernist movement launched by Laszlò Moholy-Nagy. His photographs "  pure  », Produced in the steelworks of the Otis Steel Company between 1927 and 1928, extol the machine and industrialization in a context of national pride. His commercial success allowed him to open a studio in Cleveland, whose Art Museum rewards industrial images in 1927. Mr. Bourke-White began in photojournalism thanks to the American publisher Henry Luce, who hired him to illustrate the first issue of Fortune magazine, published in February 1930. On the strength of her recent success, she moved into the Chrysler Building in 1930. The same year, she spent five months in the USSR where she photographed industrial installations, the various sites of the five-year plans in class, and become familiar with the photographic visual rhetoric of Soviet propaganda. His photos of Russia, published in Fortune, are the subject of a book  : Eyes on Russia (1931).

Statue of Liberty, New York, 1930
graflex.jpg
3 1/4 x 4 1/4 RB Auto Graflex 1909-1941

A large Graflex SLR, for its film size this particular camera dates from 1915. Having the longest lifespan of any Graflex SLR, the Auto Graflex was manufactured between 1909 and 1941. It is a old model whose top is hinged at the front. It also has a rotating Graflex back and shutter speeds T + 1/10 to 1/1000 of a second. This one comes equipped with a nice Cooke Anastigmat 8.5 "Series IV brass lens, a fairly expensive option at the time of purchase.

Margaret Bourke-White (1904-1971) American photographer born in New York in the district of the Bronx where she grew up, daughter of Joseph White, of Polish origin, engineer in the printing sector at the "  Hall Printing Press Company  ",  and a mother of Irish and English descent, Minnie Bourke.

  •  

    In 1912, at the age of 8, his father took him to visit the rotary press production plant in Duncllen, New Jersey, where castings were produced for the production of rotary presses. Perched from the top of a balcony, she witnesses the pouring of molten metal, with the magic of light, heat and sparks, she is amazed by this spectacle, which forever marks her attachment to industrial beauty.

  •  

    From 1916, his father, also  amateur photographer, introduced him to photography, at the age of 12, she assisted him in his shots, as well as in the development of his prints which he made in a bathtub.

  •  

    1918 to 1921, she studied at Plainfield High School in New Jersey, in 1921, entered Columbia University and then in 1922 joined Rutgers University. In 1923, passionate about dance, she changed again to join the University of Michigan, it was from this moment that she began photography by making portraits to illustrate the book of her year of promotion.

    Gifted at writing articles, she was offered a position as a photographic editor for the Faculty's annual newspaper, a position she refused to marry Everett Chapman, a student electrical engineer.

  •  

    In January 1922, following the death of her father, she missed a semester, then returned to Columbia University where she took evening classes in photography.  from Clarence H. White,  famous representative of Pictorialist photography, who taught him composition, instilled in him the way of photographing landscapes, with vaporous tones.

    Still not giving up on her dreams of becoming a scientist, she plans to use photography to document her profession. For $ 20, his mother gives him a second-hand Reflex ICA camera with a cracked lens. In order to pay for her schooling, during the summer, she teaches as a teacher, and sells to tourists no less than 2000
      postcards she makes at Camp Agaming on the shores of Bantam Lake in Connecticut.

  •  

    After her marriage broke down in 1926, she resumed studies of reptiles and amphibians at Cornell University in the city of Ithaca, where she graduated in biology in 1927.

    With her old camera, she finds again the opportunity to set up a photographic business, to earn a living, and takes as a subject photos of buildings surrounded by snow, frozen waterfalls. The success is such, that despite her hard work, she has to hire two students to help her. At the same time, she takes journalism courses, presents her photos at the "  Cornell Alumni News  Which pays him each coverage, for $ 5.

  •  

    In 1927, she moved to Cleveland, to join her mother and brother, and began a career as an industrial photographer. Until then an amateur photographer, she added to her name that of her mother, Bourke, and in 1928 opened her own studio "Bourke-White Photography",  in the Terminal Tower in Cleveland, a skyscraper, just rose from the ground, becoming a freelance professional photographer, specializing in shots of architecture and industrial buildings. Orders for the press are pouring in, she works for manufacturers, "  The Aluminum Company of America  ","  The Standard Oil of Ohio  ","  The Chrysler Corporation  ", For architects, bankers, and numerous magazines," New York Times Magazine "," Vanity Fair ", and" House and Garden ".

  •  

    From 1928, she worked to photograph the construction of the "Chrysler Building", to promote it, which allowed her to earn a living.

    Thanks to his photographs taken on behalf of the "
      Otis Steel Company  ", She was noticed for her originality by the publisher Henry Luce, seduced by his pictures of this steelworks, in 1929, he hired for his new magazine"  Fortune  ".

  •  

    The following year, in 1930, the magazine sent her to Germany, in order to photograph the Krupp steel factories there, she continued her journey to the Soviet Union, obtained a visa, becoming the first Western photographer authorized to enter the USSR. , she stayed there for more than five weeks, and produced a report on the first five-year plan, photographing factories, farms, dams, and workers, taking no less than three thousand shots.

    The same year, she moved her studio to Cleveland, to  open another in New York on the 61st floor of the Chrysler Building.

  • In the summer of 1931, she went to the USSR for a second time to photograph Magnitogorsk, the immense metallurgical complex in the Kazaksthan region, a report which resulted in the publication of a book "Eyes on Russia". The same year he participated in a group exhibition in New York alongside Ralph Steiner and Walker Evans .

  •  

    In 1934, while reporting for Fortune on the water scarcity in the American West, she became aware of human suffering, of the social reality, that of American farmers powerless in the face of the crisis, which led to 'moves away from its advertising work. Outside the framework of the "  Farm Security Administration  She takes part in the situation, photographing the victims of the Dust Bowl like Dorothea Lange .

  •  

    In 1935, she produced series of aerial images for various aviation companies, such as the "  Eastern Airlines  ".

  •  

    In 1936, as soon as LIFE magazine was launched, Margaret Bourke-White was the magazine's only woman and alongside photographer Alfred Eisenstaedt , one of the four permanent reporters, she featured "  A  From the first issue, November 23, 1936, with its report on the Fort Peck Dam in Montana. The same year she collaborated with her future husband Erskine Caldwell on a book entitled "You Have Seen Their Faces", dealing with rural poverty in the South of the United States.

  •  

    In 1938, she went to Czechoslovakia, to document the rise of political events, and published "North of the Danube". In 1939 as a second wedding, she married the writer Erskine Caldwell. It covers the pre-war period of the United Kingdom in Romania, travels through Turkey, Syria and Egypt.

  •  

    At the beginning of 1940, for a short period, she collaborated for the New York newspaper "  PM  », But very quickly returned to LIFE.

    During the Second World War, she was the first American photographer accredited and authorized to fly on a combat mission, in areas of military operations for the US Air Force, she worked as a war correspondent for LIFE. She returned to the USSR and found refuge at the American Embassy in Moscow at the time of the German invasion. She photographs other fronts during the conflict in North Africa, Italy, follows General George S. Patton in defeated Germany to the Buchenwald concentration camp, which  'it is one of the first to be discovered, on April 15, 1945.

    After the war, she continued her travels, and devoted herself to humanitarian reports, with other artists, she trained "  the American Artist's Congress  », A left-wing organization, raising public funds, to promote the arts and fight racial discrimination.

  •  

    From 1946, she traveled to India and spent three years covering the accession to independence, she followed Mahatma Gandhi's campaign for non-violence, met him and was the last person to interview him.

    On January 30, 1948, six hours before Gandhi's assassination, she spoke with him in the gardens of Birta House in New Delhi, the last moments of a long relationship with this man, his relatives and the whole country.

    "  Just a few hours later, as he was on his way to prayer, this man who believed that non-violence could even defeat atomic bombs fell, shot dead by revolver bullets.  »Margaret Bourke-White

  •  

    In 1950, she left for Johannesburg, to document the Apartheid that was rife in South Africa, in order to report on the conditions of workers in the diamond and gold mines, not hesitating to descend more than three kilometers under earth, to bring back exceptional pictures.

  •  

    In 1952, while traveling to Korea, to cover the communist guerrillas, she felt the first signs of a terrible disease, the onset of Parkinson's disease.

  •  

    In 1955, Edward Steichen , photographic director of the Museum of Modern Art in New York, selected several of his photos for the exhibition “The Family of Man”.

  •  

    1957, unable to continue her photographic activity, she took a semi-retirement, and then devoted herself for six years to writing her biography, "Portrait of Myself" which was published in 1963, which quickly became a successful edition.

    In 1957, the Boston Chamber of Commerce awarded him "  the American Woman of Achievement Quote  ", In 1963 the US Camera Magazine awarded him the"  Achievement Award  "And in 1964 the American Society of Magazine Photographers, the award of"  the Honor Roll Award  ".

 

From her adolescence Margaret Bourke-White dreams of a life full of adventures. It is widely granted and his life is a tumultuous and rich romance. And as a woman with an intrepid character, she knows how to make an eminent place in a man's profession. To get her passport to adventure, she quickly understands that photography is the ideal medium. And his genius for being in the right place at the right time allows him to produce images that have become testimonies, icons. His photos tell stories, but also make history.

 

"  I don't know of anything else that equals the happy expectation of discovering something new, something you can become in advance, something that only you will find, because in Besides being a photographer, you are a special type of person.  »Margaret Bourke-White

Installed in Cleveland, in contact with black steel factories, she gave up very quickly  the vaporous artistic blurs that she practices at the beginning of her career. His style therefore becomes more precise and better suited to publications in the periodical press. Embracing modernity, she chooses to devote herself to the photography of industrial landscapes, she achieves it through practice, coupled with a good determination to learn on the job.

"  The industrial world, vast and dynamic, is offered to me. »Margaret Bourke-White

Between each trip, book or report for Life magazine, Margaret returns home to New York, where her second home is, the editorial staff of Life, and to Connecticut where her refuge, a large cottage in the middle of the woods, is located.

She quickly discovers that it is  through photography  that all  is best understood.  The geometric patterns that his gaze carves out on the keys of a typewriter, on lathes, plows, suspension bridges, and even on the toga of the Statue of Liberty, enchants him to the point that back, she constructs through her photographs, a sublimated account of progress and symbols, at the dawn of the 20th century.

She is one of the great chroniclers of the modern and mechanical era, she photographs the city of New York in full swing, the equipment and the industrial production processes by employing methods which capture a universe usually perceived as stripped of beauty. Romanizing the extraordinary power of a new world and with close-ups, lighting effects, unusual perceptives, she creates artistic compositions, visual feats of strength that show her understanding of modern design and aesthetics. .

"  Another photographer would also take pictures, but they would be different, only you have that singular mental and emotional experience of precisely perceiving the detail of a story and capturing it on gelatin film. »Margaret Bourke-White

Aerial views are ubiquitous and characteristic for the photographer, whose studio is located atop the Chrysler Building, from her top floor window she can see not one, but two shiny, steel gargoyles pointing south- Where is. No other studio is at such a height as hers and time after time she climbs these gargoyles to photograph New York City.   

"  The height does not scare me, here at the top of the Chrysler Building, the welders and riveters gave me a precious rule  : When you are 300 meters above the ground, think you are 3 meters above the ground and relax, the problems are exactly the same. »Margaret Bourke-White

Witnessing the most important events of the 20th century, Margaret Bourke-White captures looks and gestures, powerfully constructs her images and, often through the particular, gives the deep meaning of historical facts. His hundreds of thousands of photographs reflect adventure, sensitivity and courage.

His work is rich in more than 25,000 photographs, now appearing in many museums, the "  Brooklyn museum  " , the "  Cleveland Museum  " , to the "  Bird Library of Syracuse  ", to  "  MoMA  "In New York, as well as at the"  library of congress  From Washington.

margaret-bourke-white_chrysler-building-
Bourke_White_Hydrogénérateurs,_Niaga

Hydrogenerators, Niagara Falls Power Co, New York, 1928

Margaret Bourke-White, Chrysler Building
(Facade), c.  1930

Buchenwald, Germany, 1945

She manages to account for the different phases of the Second World War, from air raids, through the Italian campaign and the advance in Germany by the allies, until the arrival in 1945 in Buchenwald.

"  I am often asked how it is possible to photograph such atrocities, I have to work with a veil over my soul. When I photograph the death camps the protective veil is so tightly drawn that I hardly know what I am taking until I see the prints, it is like then I was discovering these horrors for the first time. .  »Margaret Bourke-White

Bourke White Allemagne, Buchenwald, 1945
Bourke White Chisinau, Roumanie, 1940.jp

During the 1930s and early 1940s, her work focused on Europe, she wanted to show the repercussions of Nazism and Communism on living conditions, the militarization of society and the strong ideological orientation transmitted from the first years of school, like this photograph that she takes with a capacity to capture with a simple image, the strong moments of the story, that of a Romanian class in Chisinau, with the pupils raising their arms in the air straight.

Fort Peck Dam, Montana, 1936

Margaret Bourke White Chisinau, Roumanie, 1940

"Des élèves en uniforme de l'école de filles de Chisinau font le salut officiel de la Straga Taree, une organisation de jeunesse roumaine fasciste obligatoire. Février 1940".

Margaret Bourke White : The LIFE picture Collection via Getty

The image is displayed in "  A ”from the first issue of Life Magazine, November 23, 1936. Its director, Henry Luce, wanted something large, gigantic, and imposing. Margaret then made a report on the dam, the largest in the world at the time, built in the prairies of Montana, at Fort Peck. 

Bourke-White-Barrage-de-Fort-Peck,-Monta
bottom of page

top of page

     Margaret Bourke-White

Margaret Bourke-White

« Aucune image n'est pour moi sans importance. »

Margaret Bourke-White

« La photographie est chose subtile. Vous devez laisser l’appareil vous prendre par la main et vous menez à votre sujet. »  Margaret Bourke-White

PhotoReporter

Margaret Bourke-White

Elle a reçu son premier appareil photo, un ICA Reflex 3 ¼ x 4 ¼ pouces d'occasion avec un objectif fissuré, prenant ses premières photos sur des plaques de verre.

ICA Reflex 3 ¼ x 4 ¼ pouces

ICA Reflex 3 ¼ x 4 ¼ pouces

Margaret Bourke-White statue de la liberté

Photoreporter américaine.

Célèbre photoreporter, Margaret Bourke-White a su s’imposer dans un milieu majoritairement masculin. Au cœur d’événements historiques majeurs, elle a transmis des images parmi les plus marquantes du XXe siècle, dont certaines sont devenues des icônes. Fille d’un ingénieur photographe amateur, elle perfectionne sa pratique – acquise à Columbia – à l’université du Michigan et commence à vendre quelques photographies de style pictorialiste en 1924. Deux ans plus tard, après son divorce, elle reprend ses études, puis obtient son diplôme à l’université Cornell en 1927. Dès lors, elle entame une carrière de photographe d’architecture à Cleveland. Sa production de l’époque présente de grandes affinités, d’une part avec celle du courant américain de la straight photography, initié par Paul Strand, d’autre part avec le mouvement moderniste européen lancé par Laszlò Moholy-Nagy. Ses photographies « pures », réalisées dans les aciéries de la Otis Steel Company entre 1927 et 1928, exaltent la machine et l’industrialisation dans un contexte de fierté nationale. Sa réussite commerciale lui permet d’ouvrir un studio à Cleveland, dont le musée d’Art récompense les images industrielles en 1927. M. Bourke-White débute dans le photojournalisme grâce à l’éditeur américain Henry Luce, qui l’engage pour illustrer le premier numéro du magazine Fortune, paru en février 1930. Forte de ses récents succès, elle aménage dans le Chrysler Building en 1930. La même année, elle séjourne cinq mois en URSS où elle photographie des installations industrielles, les différents chantiers des plans quinquennaux en cours, et se familiarise avec la rhétorique visuelle photographique de la propagande soviétique. Ses clichés de Russie, publiés dans Fortune, font l’objet d’un ouvrage : Eyes on Russia (1931).

Statue de la Liberté, New York, 1930

3 1/4 x 4 1/4 RB Auto Graflex 1909-1941
3 1/4 x 4 1/4 RB Auto Graflex 1909-1941

Un grand reflex Graflex, pour sa taille de film, cet appareil particulier date de 1915. Ayant la plus longue durée de vie de tous les reflex Graflex, l'Auto Graflex a été fabriqué entre 1909 et 1941. Il s'agit d'un modèle ancien dont le dessus est articulé à l'avant. Il possède également un dos Graflex pivotant et des vitesses d'obturation T + 1/10 à 1/1000 de seconde. Celui-ci est équipé d'un bel objectif Cooke Anastigmat 8,5" série IV en laiton, une option assez coûteuse au moment de l'achat.

Margaret Bourke-White (1904-1971) photographe américaine née à New York dans le quartier du Bronx ou elle grandit, fille de Joseph White, d’origine Polonaise, ingénieur dans le secteur de l'imprimerie à la « Hall Printing Press Company »,  et d'une mère d’origine Irlandaise et Anglaise, Minnie Bourke.

  •  

    En 1912, à l'age de 8 ans, son père l'emmène visiter l’usine de production des presses rotatives de Duncllen, dans le New Jersey, où des pièces de fonderie sont produites pour la fabrication des rotatives. Perchée du haut d’un balcon, elle assiste à la coulée du métal en fusion, avec la magie de la lumière, de la chaleur et des étincelles, elle est émerveillée par ce spectacle, qui marque à jamais son attachement pour la beauté industrielle.

  •  

    Dès 1916, son père, également  photographe amateur, l’initie à la photographie, à l'age de 12 ans, elle l’assiste lors de ses prises de vues, ainsi qu’au développement de ses tirages qu’il effectue dans une baignoire.

  •  

    1918 à 1921, elle étudie au lycée de Plainfield dans New Jersey, en 1921, entre à l’université de Columbia puis en 1922 intègre l’université Rutgers. En 1923, passionnée pour la danse, elle change à nouveau pour rejoindre l’université du Michigan, c'est à partir de ce moment qu'elle débute la photographie en réalisant des portraits pour illustrer le livre de son année de promotion.

    Douée dans la rédaction d’articles, elle se voit offrir un poste d'éditrice photographique pour le journal annuel de la Faculté, poste qu'elle refuse pour épouser Everett Chapman, élève ingénieur en électricité.

  •  

    En janvier 1922, suite au décès de son père, elle manque un semestre, puis retourne à l’université de Columbia où elle suit des cours du soir en photographie, auprès de Clarence H.White,  célèbre représentant de la photographie Pictorialiste, qui lui enseigne la composition, lui inculque la façon de photographier les paysages, avec des tonalités vaporeuses.

    Ne renonçant pas pour autant à ses rêves de devenir scientifique, elle envisage de mettre la photographie à profit pour documenter son métier. Pour 20 $, sa mère lui offre un appareil Reflex ICA d’occasion dont la lentille est fêlée. Afin de payer sa scolarité, durant l’été, elle enseigne comme professeur, et vend aux touristes pas moins de 2000  cartes postales qu’elle effectue au camp Agaming, au bord du Lac Bantam dans le Connecticut.

  •  

    Après l’échec de son mariage, en 1926, elle reprend des études sur les reptiles et les amphibiens à l’université Cornell, dans la ville d’Ithaca, où elle obtient son diplôme de biologie en 1927.

    Avec son vieil appareil photo, elle trouve à nouveau l’occasion de monter une entreprise photographique, pour gagner sa vie, et prend pour sujet des photos de building entourés de neige, des chutes d’eaux gelées. Le succès est tel, que malgré son travail acharné, elle se doit d'embaucher deux étudiants afin de l’aider. En parallèle elle suit des cours de journalisme, présente ses photos au « Cornell Alumni News », qui lui rémunère chaque couverture, pour 5$.

  •  

    En 1927, elle déménage à Cleveland, pour rejoindre sa mère et son frère, et débute une carrière de photographe industriel. Jusqu’alors photographe amateur, elle adjoint à son nom celui de sa mère, Bourke, et ouvre en 1928 son propre studio « Bourke-White Photography »,  dans le Terminal Tower à Cleveland, gratte-ciel, tout juste sortit de terre, devenant une photographe professionnelle indépendante, se spécialisant dans les prises de vue d'architecture et de bâtiments industriels. Les commandes pour la presse, afflues, elle travaille pour des industriels, « The Aluminium Company of America », « The Standard Oil of Ohio », « The Chrysler Corporation »,pour des architectes, des banquiers, et de nombreuses revues, le « New York Times Magazine », « Vanity Fair », et « House and Garden ».

  •  

    Dès 1928, elle travaille à photographier la construction du « Chrysler Building », pour en faire la promotion, ce qui lui permet de gagner de sa vie.

    Grace à ses photographies réalisées pour le compte de la « Otis Steel Company », elle est remarquée pour son originalité par par l'éditeur Henry Luce, séduit par ses clichés de cette aciérie, en 1929, il engage pour son nouveau magazine « Fortune ».

  •  

    L’année suivante, en 1930, la revue l'envoie en Allemagne, afin d'y photographier les usines sidérurgiques Krupp, elle poursuit son voyage jusqu'en Union soviétique, obtient un visa, devenant le premier photographe occidental autorisé à entrer en URSS, elle y reste plus de cinq semaines, et réalise un reportage sur le premier plan quinquennal, photographiant, les usines, les fermes, les barrages, et les ouvriers, effectuant pas moins de trois milles clichés.

    La même année, elle déménage son studio de Cleveland, pour en ouvrir un autre à New York au 61eme étage du Chrysler Building.

  • A l'été 1931, elle se rend une seconde fois en URSS, pour photographier Magnitogorsk, l’immense complexe métallurgique de la région du Kazaksthan, reportage qui aboutit à la publication d'un ouvrage « Eyes on Russia». La même année il participe à une exposition collective à New York aux cotés Ralph Steiner et Walker Evans.

  •  

    En 1934, alors qu’elle effectue un reportage pour Fortune sur la pénurie d’eau dans l’Ouest Américain, elle prend conscience de la souffrance humaine, de la réalité sociale, celle des fermiers américains impuissants face à la crise, ce qui l’éloigne de son travail publicitaire. En dehors du cadre du projet de la « Farm Security Administration », elle prend part à la situation, en photographiant les victimes du Dust Bowl à l'instar de Dorothea Lange.

  •  

    En 1935, elle réalise des séries d’images aériennes, pour différentes compagnies d’aviations, comme la « Eastern Airlines ».

  •  

    En 1936, dès le lancement du magazine LIFE, Margaret Bourke-White est la seule femme de la revue et au coté du photographe Alfred Eisenstaedt, l'un des quatre reporters permanents, elle fait la « Une » du premier numéro, le 23 novembre 1936, avec son reportage consacré au barrage de Fort Peck dans le Montana. La même année elle collabore avec son futur mari Erskine Caldwell à un ouvrage intitulé « You Have Seen Their Faces », traitant de la pauvreté rurale dans le Sud des États-Unis.

  •  

    En 1938, elle se rend en Tchécoslovaquie, pour documenter la montée des évènements politiques, et publie « North of the Danube ». En 1939 en seconde noce, elle épouse l'écrivain Erskine Caldwell. Elle couvre la période d’avant guerre du Royaume-Uni en Roumanie, parcoure la Turquie, la Syrie et l’Égypte.

  •  

    Au début de 1940 , durant une courte période, elle collabore pour le journal New Yorkais « PM », mais retourne très rapidement au sein du Life.

    Durant la seconde guerre mondiale, elle est la première photographe américaine accréditée et autorisée à voler en mission de combat, sur des zones d’opérations militaires pour l’U.S. Air Force, elle travaille comme correspondante de guerre pour le Life. Elle retourne en URSS et trouve refuge à l'ambassade américaine de Moscou au moment de l'invasion allemande. Elle photographie d'autres fronts pendant le conflit en Afrique du Nord, en Italie, suit le général George S. Patton dans l'Allemagne vaincue jusqu'au du camp de concentration de Buchenwald, qu 'elle est l'une des premières à découvrir, le 15 avril 1945.

    Après la guerre, elle continue ses voyages, et se consacre à des reportages humanitaires, avec d'autres artistes, elle forme « l’American Artist’s Congress », organisation de gauche, récoltant des fonds publics, pour promouvoir les arts et combattre les discriminations raciales.

  •  

    Dès 1946, elle voyage en Inde et passe trois ans à couvrir l’accession à l’indépendance, elle suit la campagne pour la non violence du Mahatma Gandhi, le rencontre et est la dernière personne à l'interviewer.

    Le 30 janvier 1948, six heures avant l’assassinat de Gandhi, elle s’entretient avec lui dans les jardins de Birta House à New Delhi, ultimes instants d’une relation longuement entretenue avec cet homme, ses proches et le pays tout entier.

    « A peine quelques heures plus tard, alors qu’il se rendait à la prière, cet homme qui croyait que la non violence pouvait même venir à bout des bombes atomiques est tombé, abattu par des balles de revolver. » Margaret Bourke-White

  •  

    En 1950, elle part à Johannesburg, pour documenter l’Apartheid qui sévit en Afrique du Sud, afin de rendre compte des conditions des travailleurs dans les mines de diamant et d’or, n’hésitant pas à descendre à plus de trois kilomètres sous terre, pour en rapporter des clichés exceptionnels.

  •  

    En 1952, alors qu’elle voyage en Corée, pour couvrir la guérillas communiste, elle ressent les premiers signes d’une terrible maladie, le début la maladie de Parkinson.

  •  

    En 1955, Edward Steichen, directeur photographique du Museum of Modern Art de New York, sélectionne plusieurs de ses clichés pour l’exposition « The Family of Man ».

  •  

    1957, incapable de continuer son activité photographique, elle prend une semi-retraite, et se consacre alors pendant six années, à écrire sa biographie, « Portrait of Myself » qui est publiée en 1963, qui devient rapidement un succès d’édition.

    En 1957, la Boston Chamber of Commerce lui attribue « l’American Woman of Achievement Citation », en 1963 le U.S. Camera Magazine lui décerne l' « Achievement Award » et en 1964 the American Society of Magazine Photographers, la récompense de « l’ Honor Roll Award ».

 

Dès son adolescence Margaret Bourke-White rêve d’une vie pleine d’aventures. Elle est largement exaucée et sa vie est un roman tumultueux et riche. Et en tant que femme au caractère intrépide elle sait se faire une place éminente dans un métier d’homme. Pour avoir son passeport pour l’aventure, elle comprend vite que la photographie est le moyen idéal. Et son génie d’être au bon endroit au bon moment lui permet de réaliser des images devenues des témoignages, des icônes. Ses photos racontent des histoires, mais font aussi l’histoire.

 

« Je ne connais rien d’autre qui égale l’attente heureuse précédant la découverte d’une chose nouvelle, d’une chose que l’on peut devenir à l’avance, d’une chose que vous seul trouverez, parce qu’en sus d’être photographe, vous êtes une personne d’un type particulier. » Margaret Bourke-White

Installée à Cleveland, au contact des noires usines sidérurgiques, elle abandonne très rapidement les vaporeux flous artistiques qu’elle pratique au début de sa carrière. Son style devient dès lors plus précis et mieux adapté aux publications de la presse périodique. Embrassant la modernité, elle choisit de se consacrer à la photographie de paysages industriels, elle y arrive par la pratique, doublée d’une bonne détermination à apprendre sur le tas.

« Le monde industriel, vaste et dynamique, s’offre à moi. » Margaret Bourke-White

Entre chaque voyage, livre ou reportage pour le magazine Life, Margaret rentre chez elle à New York, où se trouve son second foyer, la rédaction du Life et dans le Connecticut où se situe son refuge, un grand cottage au milieu des bois.

Elle découvre rapidement que c’est par la photographie que tout se comprend le mieux. Les motifs géométriques que son regard découpe sur les touches d’une machine à écrire, sur les tours à bois, les charrues, les ponts suspendus, et jusque sur la toge de la statue de la Liberté, l’enchante au point qu’en retour, elle construit par ses photographies, un récit sublimé du progrès et des symboles, à l’aube du 20eme siècle.

Elle est l’une des grandes chroniqueuses de l’ère moderne et mécanique, elle photographie la ville de New York en plein mouvement, les équipements et les processus de production industrielle en employant des méthodes qui captent un univers habituellement perçu comme dénudé de beauté. Romanisant l’extraordinaire pouvoir d’un nouveau monde et avec des plans rapprochés, des jeux d’éclairages, des perceptives inhabituelles, elle réalise des compositions avec art, des tours de force visuels qui montre sa compréhension du design et de l’esthétique moderne.

« Un autre photographe prendrait également des photos, mais elles seraient différentes, vous seul éprouvez cette expérience mental et émotionnelle singulière qui permet de percevoir précisément le détail d’une histoire et de le capturer sur une pellicule de gélatine. » Margaret Bourke-White

Les vues aériennes sont omniprésentes et caractéristiques chez la photographe, dont le studio est situé au sommet du Chrysler Building, de la fenêtre de son dernier étage, elle peut voir non pas une, mais deux gargouilles d’acier, brillantes pointer vers le sud-ouest. Aucun autre studio ne se trouve à une telle hauteur que le sien et maintes fois elle escalade ces gargouilles pour photographier la ville de New York.  

« La hauteur ne me fait pas peur, ici au sommet du Chrysler Building, les soudeurs et les riveteurs m’ont confié une règle précieuse : quand tu es à 300 mètres au dessus du sol, pense que tu es à 3 mètres et détends toi, les problèmes sont exactement les mêmes. » Margaret Bourke-White

Témoins des évènements les plus importants du XXème siècle, Margaret Bourke-White saisit des regards, des gestes, construit puissamment ses images et donne, souvent à travers le particulier, le sens profond des faits historiques. Ses centaines de milliers de photographies reflètent l’aventure, la sensibilité et le courage.

Son œuvre est riche de plus de 25 000 photographies, figurant aujourd'hui dans de nombreux musées, le « Brooklyn Museum » , le « Cleveland Museum » , à la « Bird bibliothèque de Syracuse », au « MoMA » de New York, ainsi qu'a la « bibliothèque du Congrès » de Washington.

Margaret Bourke-White white chrysler building
Margaret Bourke-White

Hydrogénérateurs, Niagara Falls Power Co, New York, 1928

Margaret Bourke-White, Chrysler Building
(Facade), c. 1930

Buchenwald, Allemagne, 1945

Elle parvient à rendre compte des différentes phases de la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, des raids aériens, en passant par la campagne d’Italie et la progression en Allemagne par les alliés, jusqu'à l’arrivée en 1945 à Buchenwald.

« On me demande souvent comment il est possible de photographier de telles atrocités, il me faut travailler avec un voile sur l’âme. Lorsque je photographie les camps de la mort, le voile protecteur est si fermement tiré que je ne sais à peine ce que je suis en train de prendre avant de voir les tirages, c’est comme ci je découvrais alors ces horreurs pour la première fois. » Margaret Bourke-White

Margaret Bourke-White Allemagne, Buchenwald, 1945
Margaret Bourke-White Chisinau, Roumanie, 1940

Durant les années 1930 et au début des années 1940, son travail se concentre sur l'Europe, elle veut monter les répercussions du nazisme et du communisme sur les conditions de vie, la militarisation de la société et l'orientation fortement idéologique transmise dès les premières années d'école, comme cette photographie qu'elle réalise avec une capacité de saisir par une simple image, les moments forts de l'histoire, celui d'une classe roumaine à Chisinau, avec les élèves levant les bras en l'air bien droits.

Barrage de Fort Peck, Montana, 1936

Margaret Bourke White Chisinau, Roumanie, 1940

"Des élèves en uniforme de l'école de filles de Chisinau font le salut officiel de la Straga Taree, une organisation de jeunesse roumaine fasciste obligatoire. Février 1940".

Margaret Bourke White : The LIFE picture Collection via Getty

L'image s'affiche en « Une » du premier numéro de la revue du Life Magazine, le 23 novembre 1936. Son directeur, Henry Luce, souhaite quelque chose d’ample, de gigantesque, et d’imposant. Margaret réalise alors un reportage sur le barrage, le plus grand du monde à l’époque, construit dans les prairies du Montana, à Fort Peck. 

Margaret Bourke-White Barrage de Fort-Peck
bottom of page