top of page

Erika mann

Julia Hedwig Erika Mann, born on 9 November 1905 in Munich , died on 27 August 1969 in Zurich , eldest daughter of the German novelist Thomas Mann and Katia Mann , is a woman of letters , actress and singer German .

Youth

Erika has a privileged childhood. A year later, Klaus was born. In the early 1950s, Erika looked back on their relationship:

“We were raised as twins. Klaus was exactly one year and nine days younger than me. We became very close and we have remained so throughout our youth and our adult life… this one having ended for Klaus at the age of only forty-three years. "

The Mann House is a meeting place for intellectuals and artists. Erika obtains her first theatrical engagement (before obtaining her abitur ) in Max Reinhardt's troupe at the Deutsches Theater in Berlin .

Erika Mann

Erika Mann, daughter of Thomas Mann


Erika Mann, daughter of German author Thomas Mann, speaking on the phone during her father's book tour for "The Coming Victory of Democracy", Tulsa, Oklahoma, 1939. (Photo by William Vandivert / The LIFE Picture Collection via Getty Images)

Erika Mann

Comedy and writing

In 1924 , Erika studied drama seriously in Berlin and performed in Berlin and Bremen . In 1925 , she played with her brother Klaus the play he wrote, Anja und Esther.

On July 24 , 1926 , she married the German comedian Gustaf Gründgens  ; they divorced in 1929 . At the time, she had a passion for actress Pamela Wedekind , who was engaged to her brother Klaus. It is his first homosexual passion. In 1927 , Erika and Klaus embarked on a journey through the world, following which they wrote a four-handed book Across the Wide World (Rundherum. Das Abenteuer einer Weltreise). The following year, she began an active journalistic and political career, while pursuing her career as an actress. With Klaus, she writes a travel diary on the Riviera . In 1931, she won a 10,000 kilometer car race across southern Europe. During the race, she writes reports.

She played in the lesbian film Young Girls in Uniform (1931) by Leontine Sagan but left the production before its end. In 1932 , she published the first of her many children's books. The same year, victim of Nazi attacks, she had to interrupt her acting career in Germany. Subsequently, she will experience several Sapphic loves , with Therese Giehse , then Betty Cox and Annemarie Schwarzenbach , while she serves as a war correspondent during World War II . As was later written, her relationships are sexually passionate and intellectually stimulating.

In 1933 , Erika, Klaus, Therese Giehse and composer Markus Henning founded a satirical-literary cabaret in Munich called Le Moulin à poivre , for which Erika wrote most of the texts, often with Klaus, many of which were anti-Nazi; Erika is the mistress of ceremonies.

Erika has a privileged childhood. A year later, Klaus was born. In the early 1950s, Erika looked back on their relationship:

“We were raised as twins. Klaus was exactly one year and nine days younger than me. We became very close and we have remained so throughout our youth and our adult life… this one having ended for Klaus at the age of only forty-three years. "

The Mann House is a meeting place for intellectuals and artists. Erika obtains her first theatrical engagement (before obtaining her abitur ) in Max Reinhardt's troupe at the Deutsches Theater in Berlin .

Departure from Germany

Erika is the last of the Mann family to leave Germany after the Nazis came to power. She retrieves many papers from Thomas Mann in their house in Munich and fled to Zurich , where she reunites with her parents (whom she prevents from returning to Munich). The Pepper Mill reopens its doors in Zurich and becomes a rallying point for exiles and the most famous anti-Nazi cabaret in exile.

In 1935 , she entered into a marriage of convenience with the English poet WH Auden , in order to obtain British citizenship. Erika and Auden never lived together, but remained friends and officially married until Erika's death.

In 1937 , she went to New York , where Die Pfeffermühle (which became The Peppermill) reopened. Erika, her brother Klaus , Therese Giehse and Annemarie Schwarzenbach find themselves among a large group of artists in exile, with people like Kurt Weill , Ernst Toller or Sonja Sekula .

In 1938 , she followed the Spanish Civil War with Klaus as war correspondents. The following year, they published Escape to Life, a book about famous German exiles.

During World War II , she was a correspondent for American, Canadian and British newspapers, worked for the BBC in London and for the United States Army in several countries. She works for the Office of War Information in New York and goes as a war reporter to places of conflict. In 1945 , correspondent in Europe, Erika was the only woman to cover the preparations and the holding of the Nuremberg trials .

“You know, the case of the Germans is hopeless. Illusion and falsehood, arrogance and obedience, cunning and stupidity are oddly mingled in their hearts, ”she wrote to Klaus.

Post-war

After the war, Klaus and Erika are the subject of an FBI investigation into their political views and rumors of homosexuality. In 1949 , increasingly depressed and full of disillusionment with Germany, at the turn of the post-war period, Klaus Mann committed suicide. This event affects Erika:

“I don't know how to live yet, I just know I have no other choice. We were a whole - so much so that in reality it is impossible to imagine myself without him. "

In 1952 , after having been the object of serious defamations during the McCarthyism years, she returned to Switzerland with her parents. She becomes an essential collaborator for her father, before taking charge of his work after his death.

Erika et Klaus Mann
Erika and Klaus Mann
Erika, Klaus Man et Annemarie Scharzenbach (1932 - Venise)
Erika, Klaus Man and annemarie Scharzenbach (1932 - Venice)
Erika Mann et Annemarie Scharzenbach
Erika Mann and annemarie Scharzenbach (1932 - Venice)
Tombe Erika Mann
Kilchberg near Zurich, cemetery

La Côte d'Azur by Klaus and Erika Mann Le Grand Tour des Littératures

In the footsteps of traveling writers, who put their journeys around the world into words. In 1931, the young Klaus and Erika Mann set off together for the Côte d'Azur to write an unconventional travel guide. The son and daughter of Nobel Prize for Literature Thomas Mann, themselves already famous, are having a blast ...

bottom of page

top of page

Erika Mann

Erika Julia Hedwig Mann, née le 9 novembre 1905 à Munich, morte le 27 août 1969 à Zurich, fille aînée du romancier allemand Thomas Mann et de Katia Mann, est une femme de lettres, comédienne et chanteuse allemande.

Jeunesse

Erika a une enfance privilégiée. Un an après elle, naît Klaus. Au début des années 1950, Erika est revenue sur leur relation :

« Nous avons été élevés comme des jumeaux. Klaus avait exactement un an et neuf jours de moins que moi. Nous sommes devenus très proches et nous le sommes restés durant toute notre jeunesse et pendant notre vie d'adultes… celle-ci s'étant achevée pour Klaus à l'âge de quarante-trois ans seulement. »

La maison des Mann est un lieu de rencontres pour des intellectuels et des artistes. Erika obtient son premier engagement théâtral (avant d'avoir obtenu son abitur) dans la troupe de Max Reinhardt au Deutsches Theater de Berlin.

Erika Mann

Erika Mann, fille de Thomas Mann


Erika Mann, fille de l'auteur allemand Thomas Mann, s'exprimant au téléphone lors de la tournée de promotion du livre de son père pour "The Coming Victory of Democracy", Tulsa, Oklahoma, 1939. (Photo de William Vandivert/The LIFE Picture Collection via Getty Images)

Erika Mann

Comédie et écriture

En 1924, Erika suit de sérieuses études d'art dramatique à Berlin et joue à Berlin et à Brême. En 1925, elle joue avec son frère Klaus la pièce qu'il a écrite, Anja und Esther.

Le 24 juillet 1926, elle se marie avec le comédien allemand Gustaf Gründgens ; ils divorcent en 1929. À l'époque, elle éprouve une passion pour l'actrice Pamela Wedekind, qui a été fiancée avec son frère Klaus. C'est sa première passion homosexuelle. En 1927, Erika et Klaus se lancent dans un voyage à travers le monde, à la suite duquel ils écrivent un livre à quatre mains À travers le vaste monde (Rundherum. Das Abenteuer einer Weltreise). L'année suivante, elle commence une active carrière journalistique et politique, tout en poursuivant sa carrière de comédienne. Avec Klaus, elle rédige un carnet de voyage sur la Riviera. En 1931, elle gagne une course automobile de 10 000 kilomètres à travers le sud de l’Europe. Pendant la course, elle écrit des reportages.

Elle joue dans le film lesbien Jeunes filles en uniforme (1931) de Leontine Sagan mais quitte la production avant sa fin. En 1932, elle publie le premier de ses nombreux livres pour enfants. La même année, victime des attaques des nazis, elle doit interrompre sa carrière de comédienne en Allemagne. Par la suite, elle connaîtra plusieurs amours saphiques, avec Therese Giehse, puis Betty Cox et Annemarie Schwarzenbach, pendant qu'elle sert comme correspondante de guerre pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Ainsi qu'il a été écrit plus tard, ses relations sont sexuellement passionnées et intellectuellement stimulantes.

En 1933, Erika, Klaus, Therese Giehse et le compositeur Markus Henning fondent un cabaret satirico-littéraire à Munich appelé Le Moulin à poivre, pour lequel Erika écrit la plupart des textes, souvent avec Klaus, dont une bonne part sont anti-nazis ; Erika est maîtresse de cérémonie.

Erika a une enfance privilégiée. Un an après elle, naît Klaus. Au début des années 1950, Erika est revenue sur leur relation :

« Nous avons été élevés comme des jumeaux. Klaus avait exactement un an et neuf jours de moins que moi. Nous sommes devenus très proches et nous le sommes restés durant toute notre jeunesse et pendant notre vie d'adultes… celle-ci s'étant achevée pour Klaus à l'âge de quarante-trois ans seulement. »

La maison des Mann est un lieu de rencontres pour des intellectuels et des artistes. Erika obtient son premier engagement théâtral (avant d'avoir obtenu son abitur) dans la troupe de Max Reinhardt au Deutsches Theater de Berlin.

Départ d'allemagne

Erika est le dernier des membres de la famille Mann à quitter l'Allemagne, après l'arrivée au pouvoir des nazis. Elle récupère maints papiers de Thomas Mann dans leur maison de Munich et s'enfuit à Zurich, où elle retrouve ses parents (qu'elle empêche de retourner à Munich). Le Moulin à poivre rouvre ses portes à Zurich et devient un point de ralliement pour les exilés et le plus célèbre cabaret antinazi en exil.

En 1935, elle contracte un mariage de convenance avec le poète anglais W. H. Auden, afin d'obtenir la citoyenneté britannique. Erika et Auden n'ont jamais vécu ensemble, mais restent amis et officiellement mariés jusqu'à la mort d'Erika.

En 1937, elle se rend à New York, où Die Pfeffermühle (qui devient The Peppermill) ouvre à nouveau ses portes. Erika, son frère Klaus, Therese Giehse et Annemarie Schwarzenbach se retrouvent parmi un groupe important d'artistes en exil, avec des gens comme Kurt Weill, Ernst Toller ou Sonja Sekula.

En 1938, elle suit avec Klaus comme correspondants de guerre la guerre civile espagnole. L'année suivante, ils publient Escape to Life, un livre sur les exilés allemands célèbres.

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, elle est correspondante de journaux américains, canadiens et britanniques, travaille pour la BBC à Londres et pour l'armée américaine dans plusieurs pays. Elle travaille pour l'Office of War Information à New York et se rend comme reporter de guerre sur les lieux de conflits. En 1945, correspondante en Europe, Erika est la seule femme à couvrir les préparatifs et la tenue du procès de Nuremberg.

« Tu le sais, le cas des Allemands est sans espoir. L'illusion et la fausseté, l'arrogance et l'obéissance, la ruse et la bêtise sont odieusement mêlés dans leur cœur » écrit-elle à Klaus.

L'après-guerre

Après la guerre, Klaus et Erika font l'objet d'une enquête du FBI sur leurs opinions politiques et les rumeurs d'homosexualité. En 1949, de plus en plus déprimé et plein de désillusion sur l'Allemagne, au tournant de l'après-guerre, Klaus Mann se suicide. Cet événement affecte Erika :

« Je ne sais pas encore comment vivre, je sais seulement que je n'ai pas d’autre choix. Nous faisions un tout – à tel point qu'en réalité, il est impossible de m'imaginer sans lui. »

En 1952, après avoir été l'objet de graves diffamations dans les années du maccarthisme, elle retourne en Suisse avec ses parents. Elle devient une collaboratrice indispensable pour son père, avant de prendre en charge son œuvre après sa mort.

Erika et Klaus Mann

Erika et Klaus Mann

Erika, Klaus Man et Annemarie Scharzenbach (1932 - Venise)

Erika, Klaus Man et annemarie Scharzenbach (1932 - Venise)

Erika Mann et Annemarie Scharzenbach

Erika Mann et annemarie Scharzenbach (1932 - Venise)

Tombe Erika Mann

Kilchberg près de Zurich, cimetière

La Côte d’Azur de Klaus et Erika Mann Le Grand Tour des Littératures

Sur les traces des écrivains voyageurs, qui ont mis en mots leurs périples à travers le monde. En 1931, les jeunes Klaus et Erika Mann partent ensemble sur la Côte d’Azur pour rédiger un guide de voyage anticonformiste. Le fils et la fille du prix Nobel de littérature Thomas Mann, eux-mêmes déjà célèbres, s’en donnent à cœur joie...

bottom of page